Eggless Chocolate Mug Cake

I love cake. I really do. Considering how often I make a cake, I don’t often eat a lot of cake. However, a couple years ago, I found a recipe for Chocolate Mug Cake. For those of you who have NEVER heard of mug cakes (blasphemy!), it is exactly what it sounds like.  A little slice of cake heaven, but in a mug made in the microwave, usually in about 5 minutes. Oh yes. 5 minutes = cake. You are welcome.

Last night I was craving a mug cake, because at work I saw a bunch of desserts and just wanted CAKE. But, sad day, we had no eggs. I went online, and ta-da! Eggless Chocolate Mug Cake. Unfortunately I can’t remember the site I found it, but I managed to make the cake again today (I’m eating it as I write this! :P) and it was just as good as last night.

Shame on me though, I devoured the cake before even thinking of a photo op, so, the photo below is just from Google. Still though, if you like THIS mug cake, head on over to Kirbie’s Cravings – a fantastic fellow food blogger with and ENTIRE SECTION of her blog devoted to mug cakes. Again, you are welcome! Now, enough WORDS. More CAKE.

Kirbie’s Cravings Link

http://kirbiecravings.com/category/recipes/mug-cakes

 

Mug Cake

 

Paul and I have been experimenting with mug cakes for a while. He prefers a chocolate cake with mint extract. I like a chocolate  cake with orange extract. We both enjoy a chocolate cake with peanut butter mixed in. The cake I made was a version of that. Chocolate cake with Reese’s peanut butter chips, topped with vanilla ice cream. Awesome.

Okay. Go make a mug cake!

Ingredients:

Yields: 1 mug cake

4 tbsp. flour
3 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp. cocoa
¼ tsp. baking soda
3 tbsp. milk
3 tbsp. oil
1 tsp. vanilla
¼ tsp. flavoured extract (ex. orange, mint, almond) (optional)
Chocolate/Reese’s Peanut Butter/Mint/Butterscotch/Cinnamon chips (optional)

In a large mug, mix all dry ingredients until blended. Whisk in milk, oil and vanilla until smooth. If desired, mix in extract and/or flavour chips. Cook in microwave for 2 minutes. Serve with frosting or ice cream.

One thought on “Eggless Chocolate Mug Cake

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

