Plum Upside Down Cake

Plum Upside Down Cake 1Ah, plums. I saw some fresh plums at the store today while looking for dinner ideas with Paul, and figured I would make a plum dessert of some kind. I had in my head a chocolate plum tart, but after looking on Pinterest, I found this upside down cake. Both Paul and I were not disappointed!

There is a beautiful sweet caramel-esque sauce that the plums soak up, and the cake is simple yet delicious, flavoured with vanilla, almond extract and just a hint of cardamom.  I found the recipe on Red Star to Lone Star, and modified it slightly to account for the plums I had. While Paul and I ran out of ice cream, this cake is best served warm, and while it was to die for as is, I think it would have been taken up a level with ice cream or whipped cream on the side.

Plum Upside Down Cake 4Still, this plum upside down cake was just the dessert I was craving. It is quite simple to make, and the results are awesome. I may have heated our house unnecessarily, but in my opinion (and Paul’s two helpings of positive feedback), it was worth it!

 

Ingredients:

Yield: 1 9 inch cake, or 1 bundt cake

¾ c. butter, softened
¾ c. light brown sugar
1 tbsp. honey
5-6 plums, cut into segments
1½ c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. cardamom
¼ tsp. salt
¾ c. white sugar
2 eggs
½ tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. almond extract
½ c. milk

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch pan or a bundt pan. (I used a bundt pan).

In a small saucepan, melt half of the butter with the honey and brown sugar over medium heat, stirring until a smooth sauce is achieved. Pour sauce into greased pan, arrange plum segments on top. (I only used 5 plums. It looked like a lot of plums, but I could have used 6 because of how much the plums shrink during baking.)

Mix flour,  baking powder, cardamom and salt in a medium bowl and set aside. With a mixer, cream remaining butter and white sugar. Add eggs, vanilla, and almond extract, and whip until fluffy.

Add 1/3 of the flour mixture, and mix until just blended. Add half of the milk, and mix until blended. Repeat with remainder of flour mixture and milk, each time mixing until just combined.

Pour batter over plums, and bake until top of cake is golden brown, about 1 hour. Let the cake cool in the pan for about 15 minutes, then run a knife around the edges and invert onto a serving platter. Serve warm, topping with whipped cream or ice cream if desired.

Plum Upside Down Cake 2

 

 

 

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

