Cherry Pie

Are you ready for Cherry Pie? You should be! Strangely enough, I had never made or eaten cherry pie before I made this recipe. I was always hesitant to try cherry pie because I was afraid it would taste like maraschino cherries, which, coincidentally, I do not enjoy. I thought that cherry pie would turn out overly sweet, and not really showcase the cherry, just the sugar. Let me just say, was I ever wrong!

Cherry Pie 4Paul had gotten a huge bag of fresh B.C. cherries from the same co-worker who had given him the peaches, with the same request. Enough for two pies, so we get one as “payment” for the labour. I ended up buying one more bag of cherries, because Paul and I were invited to a little get-together with my fabulous friend Sandi, and decided to bring a pie. The cherries were beautiful, a rich, ripe red colour, and, as you can see in the above picture, some yellow cherries that I don’t know the name of, but were slightly more tart than the red cherries.

Cherry Pie 1As you can see, this was also Paul’s incredible crust-work. The crust I attempted did not make it into pictures, and I’m fine with that. The recipe for the pie filling though, I got from Annie’s Eats, and modified it slightly. You can find her original recipe here. The things I changed are relatively simple – she added a plum to the filling, and ended up pureeing some of the filling for more juice. I added the tart cherries instead, and added about 1 tablespoon of cherry whisky per pie, because I was making three pies. Finally, instead of using tapioca flour, I just used regular cornstarch. Even with these changes, the pie turned out beautifully.

Cherry Pie 2I don’t know how, but I managed to get a clean slice out of that dish, and for the first slice too! The first slice is always the hardest to get out, and usually comes out looking less than perfect. Still, I never thought I would be one to deviate from a recipe! Especially one as specific as this pie recipe was! Baking is quite organized and step-oriented, so I was a little leery to shy away from those very specific instructions. But have no fear, I did all the experimentation! If you choose to make this pie, and you should, you can follow my instructions and not have to worry at all! Now go and make some pie!

Cherry Pie 3Ingredients

Yield: 1 9-inch pie

1 double crust pie dough recipe (like this one)
6 c. pitted and halved cherries
½ c. sugar
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. cherry whisky
2½ tbsp. cornstarch, divided
Pinch of ground cinnamon
2 tbsp. butter, diced into small pieces
1 egg beaten with 1 tsp. of water for egg wash

Preheat the oven to 400°F. To make the filling, in a large bowl, combine the cherries, sugar, lemon juice, whisky, cinnamon and 2 tbsp. of the cornstarch. Mix well to combine, and let stand for 15 minutes.

While filling is sitting, roll out the pie crust to fit your pie dish. Make sure the crust is rolled out quite thin. To transfer the dough to the dish, fold the dough in half and then into quarters, loosely, move to the pie dish, and unfold and arrange. Trim the dough to fit the pie dish, and put aside remaining dough for the top crust.

Transfer the cherry mixture to the dough-lined pie plate. Dot with pieces of butter, and sprinkle remaining cornstarch over the filling and butter. Top with the remainder of the pie dough. Pinch the edges of dough together in a decorative pattern. Cut about 8 slits in the top of the pie for steam vents. Brush the top crust with the egg wash.

Place the pie in the oven for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, turn oven down to 350°F, and continue baking for 30-40 minutes, until crust is golden and juices are bubbling. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool 2-3 hours so filling has time to set and thicken. Slice, and serve warm with ice cream or whipped cream.

**If you are worried about the pie bubbling over in your oven and making a mess, place a baking sheet on the oven rack below your pie, or place the pie on the baking sheet directly. This will stop your oven from getting dirty from pie spillages.**

3 thoughts on “Cherry Pie

  1. And of course, different types of cherries have more or less juice, tartness, etc. Bings are not good for cooking; better for eating. Rainiers, my favourite, only make it directly to my stomach. Not sure how they cook up. And minute tapioca can be used in place of cornstarch or tapioca flour. Looks good!

    1. Absolutely! I’ve never had the need to use tapioca flour, because cornstarch works so well, and I have never heard of minute tapioca! Good to know though! Thanks!

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

