Apple Pie

Apple Pie 7

Firstly, I am sorry! It has been so long since my last post! Secondly, this is not the first time I have made apple pie this year. I made apple pie a few weeks ago when one of Paul’s coworkers brought us some apples. However, I was just not happy with the overall look of the pies, and did not want to post them. Trust me, I did it for you. The pies were not pretty. They tasted good, but thumbs down for looks.

Apple Pie 3

Today, I went to the store to pick up some things for lunch, and there were some fantastic, huge apples just calling out to me. At first, I was thinking I wanted to make an apple crisp. Then, as I started looking at the apples I bought, it would have been just sad to not bake these apples into a beautiful pie.

Apple Pie 1

Now, when I say these apples were huge, I am not joking. The recipe calls for 8 Granny Smith apples. I bought 7 apples, and could not fit them all into the pie! I had to put a little under half of them into a baggie to save for making a dessert for next week!

This pie has never failed me. It is absolutely delicious, and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, just divine. If you like apples, pie, and just fall in general, this pie is for you.

Apple Pie 6

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

1 recipe for a 9 inch double crust pie
½ c. unsalted butter
3 tbsp. flour
¼ c. water
½ c. packed brown sugar
½ c. white sugar
¼ tsp. cinnamon
8 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced

Preheat the oven to 425°F. In a saucepan, melt the butter. Stir in the flour to create a paste. Add the water, sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and let simmer, stirring frequently.

Roll out your pie crust to fit the bottom of the pie dish. Pile with apples, mounded slightly. Cover with a lattice work crust. Gently pour the sugar and butter mixture over the crust, pouring slowly, so it soaks into the pie and does not run off.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350°F and cook for 35-45 minutes, until apples are soft. Remove from oven, and sprinkle top of pie with cinnamon sugar. Let cool at least 1 hour, then slice and serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

Apple Pie 2

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

