Rolo Cookies

Rolo Cookies 1

This is it. The recipe many of you have been waiting for. (Other than just another recipe. Sorry, readers! I know it’s been a while! I have been working like crazy lately!) I have been making these cookies for years. I first came across the recipe in my high school Foods class. Over the years, I have made a few modifications of my own, and now, I make these cookies (at the very least) once a year, during the Christmas season. Instead of going out and buying gifts for Paul’s family, I give them a container of baked goods, and everyone is happy. These cookies are an annual request of Paul’s family, and one of the first cookies that I really perfected.

Now, I’ve been talking up my baking skills at work, and everyone has been giving me a hard time for not bringing any baking in so everyone can have a taste test. I decided then to make a quadruple batch of these fantastic Rolo cookies so Paul can have some, as well as all of my co-workers.

Rolo Cookies 2

These Rolo cookies are fantastic. A basic chocolate cookie dough, rolled around a mini Rolo, and baked. Of course, you can always use the regular Rolo’s and cut them in half, but I prefer the mini Rolo’s. You can easily fit one in a cookie and you actually get more cookies if you use the mini ones.

As a side note, the original recipe makes about 3-4 dozen cookies on its own. The amounts below are for a single recipe, not a quadruple recipe. The quadruple recipe made a lot of cookies, and I mean a lot. Good thing I’m bringing some to work.

Do yourself a favour, and go make these cookies. Chocolate and caramel in a cookie? Life just got a whole lot sweeter.

Rolo Cookies 3

Ingredients

Yield: 4 dozen cookies

1 pkg. mini Rolo’s
1 c. margarine or butter (either works)
1 c. brown sugar
1 c, white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2 ½ c. flour
½ c. cocoa
1 tsp. baking soda

Preheat oven to 350° F. In the bowl of a mixer, cream margarine or butter well. Add sugars, and cream again. Add eggs and vanilla, beating well.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, cocoa, and baking soda. Add gradually to wet mixture, mixing after each addition. If using full-size Rolo’s, cut in half.

Take a teaspoon-sized amount of dough (I actually use a teaspoon to scoop out the dough for consistency), and wrap dough around the Rolo. If desired, roll in sugar, and place on an ungreased baking sheet. (I don’t actually roll the cookies in more sugar – I find them sweet enough as is.)

Bake for 7 minutes. Leave on the pan for 2 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

One thought on “Rolo Cookies

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

