Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie 2

It is that time of the year! Fall is wonderful, from the flavours, to the colours, to the all-around feeling. It may also help that I was born in September, so I am naturally more Fall and Autumn accepting. Still, one of the best things about Fall is pumpkin. Of course, the entire world goes a little pumpkin-crazy for a few months, but nothing makes Thanksgiving what it is without pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Pie 1

For the past couple years, Paul and I have been celebrating with his family, but this year, he had to work and one of my best friends invited me over for Thanksgiving dinner. I decided that I would bring dessert, but I was torn between pumpkin pie and apple pie. When I made apple pie a few weeks ago, I had frozen the leftover apples for a second pie down the road, so apple pie was a perfect choice for Thanksgiving dinner. However, when I heard about 8 people were coming to Sandi’s house for dinner, I decided that pumpkin pie was also in order. Also, Sandi made an official request for pumpkin pie, and she made the very important point that Thanksgiving is not really Thanksgiving without pumpkin pie. Hence, this post on pumpkin pie!

I’m a fan of pumpkin pie, and not trying to brag, but this pie is awesome, and I don’t even remember where I got the recipe. It is flavourful, loaded with spices, and I topped it off with freshly made whipped cream. Together, the combination was absolutely fantastic, and everyone at Sandi’s house agreed – you can always tell if something is good by the amount of silence around the table, and you could have heard a pin drop. Next holiday, try out this recipe for pumpkin pie, and see if it compares with the current family favourite!

Pumpkin Pie 3

Also, I have a ton of leftover pumpkin puree, and that warrants another pumpkin recipe. I’ve got to make the most of the season, and pumpkin baking is where it’s at!

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9-inch pie

½ c. dark brown sugar
1/3 c. white sugar
½ tsp. salt
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ground ginger
¼ tsp. nutmeg
¼ tsp. ground cloves
¼ tsp. cardamom
½ tsp. lemon zest
2 eggs
1 egg yolk
2 c. pumpkin puree
1½ c. heavy cream
1 single pie crust

Preheat oven to 425°F. Roll out pie crust to fit pie plate. Trim edges, and set aside. In a large bowl, mix sugars, salt, all spices, and lemon zest. Beat the eggs and the yolk together, and add to bowl. Stir in pumpkin and cream and whisk all ingredients well.

Pour mixture into pie shell and bake for 15 minutes in preheated oven. After 15 minutes, reduce oven temperature to 350°F and bake pie 40-50 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool to room temperature, then refrigerate until ready to serve.

If you want to serve with fresh whipped cream, in the bowl of a mixer, combine 1 c. whipping cream with 1 tsp. vanilla extract, and whip on high for about 5 minutes, until cream starts to stiffen. Mix in 2-4 tbsp. icing sugar (depending on taste and sweetness preferences) and whip until evenly incorporated and stiff.

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. My mouth is watering like a river and I am thinking how thankful I am for my dearest sister-in-law-to-be (And, of course, thankful for that lovely brother-in-law who with that Feller charm brought her nearly into the fold)! I bet it tastes even better than it looks! Can i have first dibbs on inviting you for next thanksgiving I wonder?

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

