Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake

Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake 6

I had two days off in a row this week, and it was fabulous. Combine that with the fact that Paul and I did a deep clean of the kitchen, and I was a happy camper the past couple days. The ironic thing is that every time we clean the kitchen, I immediately want to bake something after. The sparkling appliances and countertops just call to me every time. However, Paul implored me to keep the kitchen clean for a couple of days, and I acquiesced. Today, I just couldn’t hold the baking bug in any longer.

Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake 1

I had been eyeing this cake for a few weeks now, and I finally decided that it was the time to make it. With the weather getting colder, I find myself thinking of warm summer days again, and this cake was just the ticket to bid a final (and late!) farewell to summer.

Now, it’s a good thing that I do all the experimenting for you, my incredible readers. The in-pan cooling time was off, and some of my cake stuck to the inside of the pan. I have included the changed times for you, so that this unfortunate (but tasty) mistake does not happen to you! I tried to get the best pictures I could for you all, so bear with me if they are not as nice as they usually are.

Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake 5

I found the original recipe here, after a search on Pinterest, and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. A light, lemony cake, speckled with raspberry and covered with a gooey, sweet glaze. It was the perfect thing to say goodbye to summer.

Ingredients

Yield: 1 10 inch bundt cake

For the cake:
1 c. butter, softened
2 c. sugar
4 large eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1 c. buttermilk
1/3 c. fresh lemon juice
1 tsp. lemon extract
½ tsp. lemon zest
2 2/3 c. flour
1¼ tsp. baking powder
1¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
3/4 c. raspberries, mashed

For the glaze:
2 c. icing sugar
1 tbsp. lemon juice
Approx. 4 tbsp. milk

**If you do not have buttermilk, add 1 tbsp. white vinegar or 1 tbsp. lemon juice to a 1 c. measure, and fill with milk. Let sit for 5 minutes, then use.**

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a 10 inch bundt cake pan.

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, lemon extract, lemon juice, and lemon zest until well blended. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Alternate between adding the flour mixture, and buttermilk to the wet mixture, mixing after each addition. After all the flour mixture and the buttermilk is added, mix until all ingredients are completely incorporated. Pour cake batter into bundt pan and spread until even.

Mash raspberries with a fork, or puree in a blender. Pour raspberries evenly around the top of the cake batter, and using a knife, swirl it into the cake batter.

Bake for 40-50 minutes. Check at 35 minutes by inserting a toothpick into the center. The toothpick should come out clean when the cake is done. Let cool for 20-30 minutes in pan, then run a knife around the edge of the bundt pan and turn cake onto a wire rack to cool. When cake is completely cool, cover in glaze.

To make the glaze, stir together the icing sugar, lemon juice, and the milk (1 tbsp at a time) until the desired consistency is reached. Mixture should be thin enough to drizzle, but not runny.

Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake 3

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

