Spice Cake

Spice Cake 1

Again, I am sorry it’s been so long. Last week, I made a chocolate meringue pie. However, it was a massive failure. I don’t have failures often, and I am not proud to admit it. I threw a chocolate custard that I improvised into a chocolate graham cracker crust and put a meringue on top. Needless to say, the custard and crust turned into more of a pudding than a pie.

So, I had today off, and was itching to bake something. After puttering around the house, cleaning, doing laundry, and running some errands, Paul got home from work, and I decided that I really, really wanted some kind of cake. I’ve been eyeing up an amazing looking Gingerbread Cake. That recipe needs coffee (but I will be trying it out, and soon!), but I found a recipe that needed things I already had in the pantry.

Spice Cake 4

The cake batter mixed up quite easily, and did it ever smell good while baking. As soon as I took it out of the oven, Paul was asking for a piece to be all glazed up and plated. The spice combination is fantastic, and it came out of the oven with a perfect golden brown crust, and a moist, tender crumb on the inside.

I’m contemplating going back for a second slice right now. The cake is beautifully flavourful, and covered in a maple cinnamon glaze, absolutely taken to the next level. This is definitely a cake to get you into the holiday spirit, if you aren’t already there!

Spice Cake 5

Ingredients

Yield: 1 Bundt cake, or 1 9 x 13 cake

Cake:

2½ c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger
½ tsp. cloves
½ tsp. allspice
¼ tsp. cardamom
½ tsp. salt
¾ c. butter (softened)
1½ c. brown sugar
4 eggs
1 c. milk
1 tsp. white or apple cider vinegar

Maple Cinnamon Glaze:

2 c. icing sugar
4 tbsp. butter (softened)
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
4-6 tbsp. hot milk
2 tbsp. maple syrup
Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, all spices, and salt. Whisk to combine.

In the bowl of a mixer, cream butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing just to combine after each addition. Mix in half of the dry mixture until just combined with wet mixture. Add in milk and vinegar, and mix until just combined. Add in the rest of the dry mixture until just combined.

Spray your cake pan with non-stick spray, and pour cake batter into pan. Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. (Keep an eye on your cake! Mine was done at about 30 minutes.)

Invert onto a wire rack to cool.

Once cool, mix all ingredients for the glaze in the order they are listed, and drizzle over the cooled cake. Slice and serve!

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

