Triple Chocolate Brownies

image

I have been looking for the perfect brownie recipe for a long time. A nice, thick, fudgy brownie, slightly soft and ever so gooey in the center. That crisp, crackly crust on top. Brownie perfection. My friends, and dear readers, I think this is it. This is an absolutely phenomenal brownie, that bakes up nice and tall.

There have been many brownies in my life, and none of them have really fulfilled all of the criteria I listed. I have been singing Annie’s praises since I found her website, and when she proclaimed that these brownies were the one, I knew I had to try them. It’s been about a year since I made brownies, and finally being in the brownie mood, I decided to give these a try.

image

Oh my goodness gracious, these brownies were fantastic. Tall, fudgy, crackly, soft, and absolutely heavenly. Paul wanted them iced with a simple chocolate buttercream, but I wanted to just have the decadence of the plain brownie. I think these iced or frosted would be fantastic, but they are just as good with a big glass of ice cold milk.

If you are having a chocolate craving, or are in need of some brownies, go make these now. I think these brownies have become my one recipe for brownies. Now, the modifications will just come with time. The possibilities are endless! Peanut butter, caramel, pretzels. Brownies are a perfect vehicle for an endless amount of flavour combinations!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 12-16 servings

5 oz. semisweet chocolate, chopped
2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
8 tbsp. butter, cut into quarters
3 tbsp. cocoa powder
3 eggs
1¼ c. sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
½ tsp. salt
1 c. flour

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line an 8 x 8 inch baking pan with foil, and spray lightly with cooking spray.

In a double boiler, with the water simmering but not boiling, place the chopped chocolate and the butter in a heat proof bowl. Whisk occasionally, until the butter and chocolate are melted together. Stir in the cocoa powder until smooth, and take off the heat.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, sugar, vanilla and salt until combined. Stir in the warmed chocolate mixture until combined. With a wooden spoon, stir in the flour until just combined evenly.

Spread the batter into the greased and foiled pan and make sure batter spread out evenly. Bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the pan comes out with some sticky crumbs attached and the middle is slightly puffed.

Transfer to a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Remove foil from pan, and cut into squares as desired.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

