Sugar Cream Pie

image

It’s Pi day! I, having never been a huge fan of math or things math-related, have never really celebrated Pi day before. I didn’t post anything last year for Pi day, and I wasn’t planning on posting anything this year. However, I have been an avid food-blog reader for quite a few years now, and the entire food-blogging community seems to LOVE Pi day. Thinking about it now, it makes complete sense. Celebrate math with pie? Heck yes! I don’t know why it took me so long to jump on the bandwagon!
image

Either way, I was browsing through Annie’s Eats (I have mentioned her numerous times. Basically my food-blog idol.), and she celebrated Pi day by making this Sugar Cream Pie, which apparently is the State Pie of Indiana. As I have also mentioned before, I have rarely tried a recipe of hers that has failed me, so I decided to give this pie a go! It was also made extremely tempting by the fact that it can be made with pantry staples (hooray!) that you should have in your kitchen regularly, and is so easy to just go and whip up!
image

I have never had Sugar Cream Pie before (let alone heard of it before Annie enlightened me!), and when I woke up today and realized it was Pi day, I figured – Hey! Let’s make some pie, because, why not? I will let you know, I should have used a deeper pie dish, because I had some of the filling leftover, but it tasted like an absolutely phenomenal custard or creme brulee, so I was okay with it!

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

For the crust:

1 recipe Flaky Butter Pie Crust

For the filling:

¾ c. flour
½ c. sugar
1 c. light brown sugar
½ tsp. cinnamon (plus more for dusting)
¼ tsp. nutmeg
¼ tsp. kosher salt
1½ c. heavy cream
1½ c. half and half cream
2 tsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Prepare pie crust, and roll out to about 12 inches, then lay in pie plate. Cover with a piece of aluminum foil or parchment paper, and place pie weights in dish. (If you do not have pie weights, dried beans or rice will work.) Trim away excess and create a decorative border if desired. (Side note – I did, but I need new pie weights. Mine were not heavy enough to stop the crust from rising enough, so all my beautiful crust work was lost in the crust shrinkage. Sad day.) Bake crust for 20-25 minutes, then remove pie weights and bake for 3-5 minutes longer until crust is golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool, and reduce the oven temperature to 375°F.

In a large mixing bowl, mix flour, sugars, spices, and salt until evenly combined. Gradually whisk in the heavy cream, then the half and half and vanilla. Pour the mixed filling into the pre-baked pie crust.

Bake for 40-45 minutes until the top is browned and the center is just set. Dust with additional cinnamon, if desired. Let cool completely before slicing, and serve.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Cream Pie

  1. Ooh that sounds intriguing! I’m not the biggest avocado fan, but you are right, I think that Dad would love it!

  2. Here`s a recipe you might like to try. Good for your dad too as all high protein, no carbs (well, no processed white junk carbs….)
    Chocolate Avocado Pie with nut crust:

    CRUST (ingredients are approximate; can be altered to taste)
    • ⅓ cup (35 gr) macadamias
    • ⅓ cup (35 gr) almonds ** or any combination of nuts you prefer
    • ⅓ cup (35 gr) coconut (if you don`t like coconut, just add more nuts)
    • 4 Medjool dates, pitted, drained (soak in warm water a few minutes to moisten)
    • 1 tsp ground cinnamon * optional
    • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
    • 2 tbsp honey, agave, maple syrup – your choice
    • pinch of salt
    Toss all into food processor; blend until nuts medium to coarsely ground. Spray pie pan and press crust into pan. You can use this RAW (as for this recipe), or bake slightly if you wish to use for a cheese cake crust or Nanaimo Bar crust.
    Chocolate avocado pudding:
    2 ripe avocados
    1/3 cup agave or maple syrup (or honey for a non-vegan version)
    3 dates soaked in warm water for 15 minutes and chopped
    1/2 cup cacao powder
    2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    1/2 to 1 cup non-dairy milk, such as almond milk * OPTIONAL – DEPENDING ON CONSISTENCY YOU DESIRE. I DON`T USUALLY NEED ANY MILK.
    Blend the ingredients in a food processor and pour into pie shell.
    Top with whipped cream, whipped coconut cream, or whatever you desire and decorate with shaved chocolate, berries, nuts as per your choice.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

