Honey Yeast Rolls

image

Oh. My. Word. I just have to say, I can not believe how stupendous these rolls are. No word of a lie, these rolls are probably one of my favourite yeast recipes I’ve made to date. Just to put it into perspective for you, this recipe makes 10-12 rolls. I got 10 rolls out of them, cutting a few a bit bigger, and during dinner alone, I had 2 rolls, and Paul had 4. That’s right. 4 rolls. I think he agrees with me about the absolute awesomeness that are these rolls.

They are so light, fluffy, tender, and sweet. I was a bit hesitant to make them at first, thinking that the honey flavour would be overpowering. However, I was pleasantly surprised. There is some honey in the initial dough, but I was most worried about the honey/butter glaze before baking turning the tops of the buns overly sweet. But, to repeat myself with the first words of this post, oh my word these buns were AMAZING. I mean amazing. The sweetness of the honey butter contrasts wonderfully with the light sprinkle of coarse salt on top. One of these warm from the pan with a dollop of butter – hellooo heaven.

image

I served them with a copycat recipe of Olive Garden’s Chicken Gnocchi soup, and the soup and these rolls together were absolute perfection. I have even decided now, that any time we need rolls for a big dinner party or holiday meal, I’m making these. They are THAT good. I have seen these on Annie’s blog quite a few times before, and finally got around to making them. I wanted to make soup last week, but it snowed yesterday, which gave me the perfect excuse for making a warm, comforting and hearty soup and some tender, fluffy rolls to go with it. I finished the meal off with a double batch of the brownies I made a few weeks ago (also from Annie, if my faithful readers remember!) and frosted the brownies (which was also an extremely smart choice). It made for a hearty, delectable meal, and to make matters better, now we have some leftover soup to freeze for later!

Ingredients

Yield: 10-12 rolls

2¼ tsp. instant yeast
1 c. warm water (110-115°F)
¼ c. honey
3 tbsp. canola oil
1¼ tsp. salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
3½-4 c. flour (I used all purpose and the rolls turned out fine, Annie used bread flour)
2 tbsp. butter, melted
2 tbsp. honey

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the dough hook, mix the yeast and water until just combined. Add the honey, oil, salt, and egg, and mix until combined. Add 3 cups of the flour and mix until the dough forms a sticky mass. Add in more flour, a few tablespoons at a time, until the dough becomes smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes. (I only used an extra half cup of flour, not the full 4 cups.)

Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm place about 2 hours, or until doubled in bulk.

Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 30 seconds. Cover with a clean dish towel and let dough rest for 10 minutes. Punch the dough down and form into 10-12 evenly shaped balls, and place into a round, lightly oiled baking dish. Cover with towel again and let rise for 20-30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Mix together the melted butter and honey, and brush over the tops of the rolls. Sprinkle lightly with coarse salt. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the tops are light golden brown. Cover with foil, and bake for another 10-15 minutes, until the center of the rolls reads 190°F on an instant read thermometer. Let cool slightly before serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

