Vanilla Sables

image

Hello again, my dear readers! This week, I felt an irresistible pull to make cookies. I didn’t really care what kind of cookies, I just wanted to make cookies. I also wanted to make something I have never made before. It was a kind of feeling that I just wanted to make small, single portion baking, so I made these vanilla sables, and, for a more indulgent treat, I made Neapolitan Cupcakes. That recipe will be posted in a few days, but I wanted to start off with something relatively simple.

Of course, who do I turn to when I am looking for something I have never made before? Annie, of course! She had this recipe for vanilla sables, as well as a slightly more complex version of Chocolate Chai Sables. Well, let me tell you, I was tempted by both, and the vanilla sables won. For a recipe I had never tried before, I wanted to taste the original version.
image

These sables were a resounding success. I did have to make a few tweaks to the recipe, but that is because I don’t actually have any vanilla beans (gasp, I know!). It’s an investment I keep meaning to make, but I just keep forgetting to order a nice big bag off the internet. Either way, I substituted some extra vanilla extract for the absence of vanilla beans, and regular sugar for the vanilla sugar.

If, however, you have vanilla beans, and feel the urge to make some vanilla sugar, take some used vanilla bean pods, and stick them in a container of white sugar for a few days. That’s it! When I finally get around to getting some vanilla beans, I also have plans to make my own vanilla extract, so hopefully in the next year there will be a post on that.

These French sables, they remind me a little of shortbread. The cookie dough is all mixed together, then rolled into a log, and frozen for a few hours or overnight. After that, it is cut into slices, and baked. Quite simple, and not that time consuming. But, enough talk! To the cookies!

Ingredients

Yield: About 2 dozen cookies

1 c. butter, at room temperature
2 vanilla beans, split lengthwise (or 2 tbsp. vanilla extract)
2/3 c. vanilla sugar (or regular sugar)
2 large egg yolks
1 tbsp. vanilla extract
2¼ c. flour
½ tsp. salt

For finishing:

Turbinado sugar (approx. ¾ c.)
1 egg white, lightly beaten with 1 tbsp. water

In a mixer bowl, combine the butter, vanilla bean seeds, and vanilla sugar. Beat on medium-high, about 2-3 minutes, until light and fluffy. Blend in the egg yolks, one at a time, and add in the vanilla extract. With the mixer on low speed, add in the flour and salt until incorporated, and a thick dough forms.

Gather the dough together and transfer to a piece of parchment paper. With your hands, form the dough into a long log, about 12-14 inches long and 1¾ inches in diameter. Wrap the dough up in the parchment paper, twisting the ends to secure, and place the dough in the freezer for 2-3 hours, or until firm.

After the dough has chilled, preheat the oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. Unroll the dough from the parchment paper, and pour a line of turbinado sugar on one side of the parchment paper. Whisk the egg and water together, then brush over the dough log. Roll the dough log into the turbinado sugar. (If you can’t find any turbinado sugar, just use brown or white sugar. I used white sugar, and the cookies turned out fine. Paul looked for me, but could not find turbinado anywhere.)

Slice the sugared dough into ½ inch slices with a sharp knife, and transfer to the baking sheets.

Bake, rotating the pans halfway through, for 14-15 minutes total, until cookies are just set and light golden around the edges. Let cool briefly on pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

One thought on “Vanilla Sables

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

