Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Tart

image

I have been feeling in the mood for a simple, quick dessert that wouldn’t require much time or effort. Paul made us a fabulous roast lamb dinner, and I wanted to make a dessert that 1) didn’t take up a lot of time in the kitchen, and 2) would complement the delicious meal without overpowering it. This tart was just perfect. It’s an extremely simple recipe, that takes maybe 20-30 minutes from start to finish, including the time it takes to set up between layers in the fridge.

A simple, no-bake tart was the perfect solution to the great dinner. Yes, you heard me correctly. It is a no-bake dessert. So simple, but so worth it. An easy, chocolate graham cracker crust, topped with a peanut butter ganache, finished off with a chocolate ganache. That’s it. I used two bowls, a tart pan, a whisk, a spatula, and of course, measuring cups. Simple.
image

Considering it is Paul’s birthday coming up (be sure to come back and see his birthday cake choice!), and he didn’t want the usual order of peanut butter and chocolate (he just wanted it jazzed up a bit instead of just the two flavours… you’ll understand when you see it!), I decided to make something peanut butter and chocolate a little in advance.

This tart was just the thing we needed, and it was the perfect end to an absolutely fantastic meal. Rich, and chocolatey, without being achingly sweet. The peanut butter helps balance it out. Delish. Try this out. If you have got a bit of time, and don’t want to turn on the oven, this is a fantastic alternative to a rich cake. I feel like Life, Love, and Sugar, the original blog I got the recipe from, is my go-to girl for anything peanut butter and chocolate. She’s definitely got the corner on rich and satisfying desserts, and I urge you to check her out. I have quite a few new pins from her blog (Amaretto or Smores Cheesecake anyone?) that I am dying to try. Like I said, I think she is my dessert soul-sister, and I didn’t realize how AWESOME she is. Check her out. My photos are nowhere near as beautiful as hers are (it’s my lack of professional camera), but this is a spectacular recipe to try.

Anyways, enough with the food-blogger promotion! We are all trying to grab a reader’s attention, and all food blogs deserve a little respect and love, and my way of doing that is telling you where I get the recipes I follow. No higher praise than food bloggers referencing other food bloggers’ recipes, in my opinion!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch tart

1½ c. Oreo cookie crumbs
4 tbsp. melted butter
6 oz. Reese’s peanut butter chips
1 c. heavy cream, divided
6 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, halved or quartered

Place oreo crumbs in a medium bowl and add melted butter. Mix until evenly combined and press firmly into a 9 inch tart pan with a removable bottom, and set aside.

Place peanut butter chips in a small bowl. In a microwave-safe liquid measuring cup, pour ½ cup of the cream in the measuring cup, and microwave 45 seconds-1 minute, until cream is boiling. Pour cream over peanut butter chips, let sit about 30 seconds, then whisk together until smooth. Pour mixture into the formed tart shell and spread in an even layer. Refrigerate about 10 minutes, until set.

Place chocolate chips in a small bowl. In a microwave-safe liquid measuring cup, pour the remaining ½ cup of cream and microwave 45 seconds-1 minute, again until cream is boiling. Pour the cream over the chocolate chips, and let sit about 30 seconds, then whisk together until smooth. Pour the chocolate ganache over the set peanut butter ganache, and spread into an even layer.

Chop the mini Reese’s cups into quarters or halves (whichever you prefer), and sprinkle over the top of the chocolate ganache. Refrigerate until completely set, about 1 hour. Slice and serve.

One thought on “Reese’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Tart

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

