Earl Grey Sables

image

I love cookies. I also love tea. My close friends know of my affinity for great tea, and I have finally decided to take my tea-love to a whole new level. I have been looking at desserts with tea in them for quite a while now, and never got around to making any of them. I finally decided to make some tea flavoured cookies.

In the past two years, I have discovered David’s Tea. If you don’t know what David’s Tea is, it is an amazing little tea shop that specializes in different kinds of loose leaf tea. Last Christmas, I was given a great Earl Grey tea, called The Earl’s Garden. It is a mixture of Earl Grey tea with strawberries. Absolutely delicious.
image

Now, Annie’s Eats has a delicious recipe for vanilla sables that I made a couple months ago and posted. She also has a recipe for Chocolate Chai Sables that I’ve been meaning to make, but since I have a huge bag of The Earl’s Garden, I decided to tweak the recipe. I took out the Chai tea and the chocolate chips, and just added some of the loose Earl Grey. When I do make the Chocolate Chai Sables (and oh, I will!) I am planning on using either a Chocolate Chili Chai tea or a Pumpkin Chai tea. Either way. If you are a fan of cookies, or of tea, these will be right up your alley.
image

Ingredients

Yield: Approx. 2-3 dozen cookies

For the cookies:

1 c. butter, at room temperature
2½ tbsp. Earl Grey tea (either loose leaf or from about 5 tea bags)
2/3 c. sugar
2 large egg yolks
1 tbsp. vanilla
2¼ c. flour
½ tsp. salt

For finishing:

Turbinado sugar (or regular if you don’t have Turbinado sugar)
1 large egg white mixed with 1 tbsp. water

In the bowl of a mixer, blend the butter, tea and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add in the egg yolks one at a time, and vanilla, and blend until incorporated. With the mixer on low speed, add in the flour and salt, and mix until a thick dough forms.

Gather the dough together on a piece of parchment paper, and roll into a long rope about 1¾ inch in diameter. Wrap in parchment paper, and freeze 2-3 hours until very firm.

When you are ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking sheets. Unroll the dough, and pour a line of turbinado sugar (or regular white sugar) on the parchment paper. Brush the egg wash on the dough, roll in the sugar, and slice with a sharp knife into rounds about ½ inch thick.

Place the dough rounds on the baking sheets and bake until the edges are light golden and just set, about 14-15 minutes, rotating halfway through. Let cool on baking sheets for a couple minutes, then transfer to wire racks to finish cooling.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

