Strawberry Ice Cream

image

Well, it’s been a while since we’ve made any ice cream around these parts. Entirely too long, in my opinion. I have had my eyes on this ice cream recipe since before Paul and I even got our ice cream maker. I have always had a love/hate relationship with strawberry ice cream, because for me, I love the flavour of strawberries, real strawberries. Some ice creams have too much of a fake strawberry flavour.

Now, I have said it before, and I’ll say it again. Annie knows what she’s doing. I got the recipe for this ice cream from her, and it really is everything she says it is: dreamy, creamy, and very strawberry!

This ice cream, however, is packed with strawberry flavour, because it is full of real strawberries. Now, the recipe calls for fresh strawberries, but I used frozen. I think next time I make this (because there will definitely be a next time) I am going to try it with fresh strawberries and see which one I like better. But for now, I am so pumped about this ice cream.
image

It is creamy, and there are two ingredients you would never guess to be in a strawberry ice cream: sour cream, and vodka. Now, before you get all skeptical, don’t worry. The sour cream adds to the creaminess of the ice cream, and the vodka helps the ice cream not get as hard in the freezer. You can’t even taste the vodka, either. It’s only a tablespoon in the entire recipe. I also didn’t have regular vodka, so I substituted marshmallow vodka instead, and like I said, you really can’t even taste the vodka.

If you are a fan of strawberry ice cream, go make this now! It is absolutely fantastic.

Ingredients

Yield: About 1 quart, or 1 litre

1 lb. (16 oz.) fresh or frozen sliced strawberries
¾ c. sugar
1 tbsp. vodka (optional)
1 c. sour cream
1 c. heavy cream (I used half and half)
½ tsp. lemon juice

Combine the strawberries, sugar and vodka in a medium bowl. Stir until the sugar is starting to dissolve. Cover and leave for 1 hour at room temperature, stirring occasionally.

Transfer the strawberry mixture to a blender or food processor. Add the sour cream, heavy cream, and lemon juice. Blend until you reach your preferred texture – slightly chunky, or smooth. I prefer smooth strawberry ice cream. Chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Transfer to ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer to a container and leave in the freezer before serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

