Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

image

I love a good strawberry rhubarb pie. The bright colours, the crisp crust, the tender fruit. It really is a fantastic choice for summer. Last week, I visited my parents, and they gave me a tour of their budding garden… with about 15 different plants, veggies, and fruits! They had an abundance of many of their plants, but the rhubarb was growing especially wild! My mom ended up giving me a huge stack of fresh rhubarb, and when I got it home and chopped it up, I had enough for two pies!

A friend and co-worker who is also a huge fan of strawberry rhubarb pie asked me to make one, and why make one pie, when I could make two! I unfortunately heated up the house… (we don’t have air conditioning!) but I think it was worth it. Homemade pie? Strawberries? Rhubarb? Totally worth it…. even if our fans are working overtime as I type this.
image

Any berry pies are really quite simple. Add berries, some flour or cornstarch as a thickener, some sugar, and a few spices, and boom! Pie! The best part about berry pies is that you can use fresh or frozen berries. Obviously fresh is the best choice if you can get them, but getting frozen fruit enables you to make this pie at any time of the year!

I froze the fresh rhubarb my mom gave me as soon as I brought it home instead of refrigerating it. I brought it home, washed it, chopped it up, and froze it. Then, when I went to make pies today, I just took the rhubarb and strawberries out of the freezer at the same time, let them thaw for a few hours, and went to it!

I guess this recipe was originally from a magazine, and Cindy Crawford claimed it as her own. Either way, this recipe was the one that I chose, and it came out absolutely delicious!
image

You can also always adjust the amount of fruit in this pie if you like one flavour more than the other. If you like it a little sweeter, put more strawberries. If you like your pies with a slightly tart bite, more rhubarb is the key. Either way, you can’t go wrong with this pie combination. It’s a summer staple, and there is no doubt why!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

1 recipe for a double crust pie
1¼ c. plus 2 tsp. sugar
1/3 c. flour
¼ tsp. nutmeg
¼ tsp. cinnamon
3 c. sliced strawberries
2-3 c. sliced rhubarb
2 tbsp. butter, cubed
2 tsp. milk (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Roll out pie crust to fit a 9 inch pie plate.

In a small bowl, mix the sugar, flour, cinnamon and nutmeg until evenly combined. Place the strawberries and rhubarb in a large bowl, and add the dry mixture. Stir to coat fruit evenly.

Fill crust with pie filling, top with butter scattered over the filling, and trim crust. Roll out remaining pie crust into a top crust for the pie, and crimp together the edges in a decorative fashion. If desired, brush milk over top of the pie crust (this helps the crust brown more in the oven).

Bake in the preheated oven for 50 minutes with a cookie sheet either under the pie or the rack below the pie. Let cool for at least 1 hour before serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

