Homemade Vanilla Marshmallows

image

Sorry for the silence around the blog for the past few weeks. It’s been a madhouse! Shortly after my last post about those Chai Chocolate Sables, it was my birthday. I was going to actually make my own birthday cake, a Chocolate Raspberry Truffle concoction of Annie’s creation. Don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten that cake. It is sitting in the back of my mind, just waiting for me to crave a cake.

The weekend after my birthday, we were whisked away to a friend’s beautiful wedding, and I didn’t want to bake anything when we were going to be out of the house for three days. Finally, after all the travelling and revelry was done, I wanted to settle down and do some baking.
image

Now, these marshmallows are not strictly baking. But, they are candy and dessert-like, so I decided to post them. At my beautiful friend’s wedding, she had a S’more bar (so clever!) and this gave me the initial idea of making homemade marshmallows. I have been tossing around the idea for a long, long time, but going to the wedding gave me the jump I needed.  I also made myself a sourdough starter, so in the next few weeks, there will be a post about homemade sourdough bread. As of right now, though, I made homemade marshmallows!

Thank goodness for Annie and her recipes.The only tool that you need for this recipe that may not be in your kitchen is a candy thermometer. Other than that, enjoy these babies. I’m going to try them next time with a flavouring other than vanilla.

One side note at well. The recipe calls for light corn syrup, which means clear corn syrup. I have almost two full bottles of corn syrup, the Golden kind, in my kitchen, and wasn’t about to go buy a third bottle, so I just used the Golden corn syrup. It turned out perfectly fine, but that was why I added a bit of food colouring so that these marshmallows weren’t a brownish gold colour.

Next time I want to make vanilla marshmallows though, I will buy the clear syrup, because the white colour of pure vanilla marshmallows is gorgeous. However, with a little bit of colour, and double the vanilla because I still don’t have vanilla beans, homemade vanilla marshmallows are within reach. Nor going to lie, I also made a quick little S’more to try, and wow. Amazing.

image

Ingredients

Yield: 8-9 dozen marshmallows

1 c. cold water, divided
2½ tbsp. (3 packets) unflavoured gelatin
1½ c. sugar
1 c. light corn syrup (golden works as well)
¼ tsp. kosher salt
2 tsp. vanilla (double this if using golden corn syrup)
¼ c. icing sugar
¼ c. cornstarch

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, add ½ c. of cold water and sprinkle the gelatin over the water to soften it. In a medium saucepan fitted with a candy thermometer, mix the other ½ c. of cold water, sugar, corn syrup, and salt. If using a vanilla bean, scrape the seeds from the bean and add to the mixture. If using golden corn syrup, add 2 tsp. vanilla.

Heat the mixture in the saucepan over medium heat, until mixture reaches 240°F. Immediately take off the heat. Turn mixer to low, and slowly drizzle the sugar syrup into the mixer bowl. When all of the sugar syrup has been added, turn mixer to high, and mix for 12-15 minutes, or until the mixture becomes thick and the bowl is lukewarm.

While the marshmallows are mixing, in a small bowl whisk together the icing sugar and cornstarch. Lightly grease a 9 x 13 pan, and sprinkle some of the icing sugar mixture into the pan, coating the bottom and sides. Once the marshmallow mixture is ready, spread into the greased and sugared pan with a lightly greased spatula. Sprinkle some (but not all) of the sugar mixture over the top of the marshmallows. Leave at room temperature for at least 4 hours or overnight.

Once ready to cut, tip out the marshmallow slab onto a cutting board. Using a knife or pizza cutter, rub blade in the icing sugar mixture and slice marshmallows into squares. If desired, use cookie cutters for fun shapes. Place marshmallows and the rest of the icing sugar mixture into an airtight plastic container. Shake to cover marshmallows and prevent them from sticking together. Store in the airtight container.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

