Gingerbread Scones with Maple Glaze

image

Hello all of you lovelies! It’s been a while. I think I forgot to tell you all why. I’m substitute teaching! This is incredibly exciting for me, because in the last two years of me finishing my Education degree, it was a bit of a rough time. So hard for me, that I actually took two years off after I graduated. It was a hard decision, but it was definitely for the best, and finally, two years later, I was ready to get back into the classroom.

Life has been a bit crazy since I started substituting, because I am now on-call 5 days of the week, and still have my restaurant job 5 different days. I still try to keep up and bake something at least every week, but it has been a bit trickier to make sure I stay updated with all of you beautiful people.

For example, last week, I made sourdough soft pretzels. Oh yeah. But Stephanie, where is the post on those? You ask. Well… they were good. Like REALLY good. Like I made them, asked Paul not to eat all of them, went out for dinner with a friend, and came home to three pretzels left, which were reduced to zero by the next morning. Yeah. That good.

So, either way, sourdough soft pretzels will be coming on Thursday or Friday (because both Paul and I want more!), but I woke up this morning and wanted something comforting and warm and loaded with carbs. Scones seemed like the perfect way to go, and boy was I right.

I like scones, but don’t make them often. I don’t know why. Either way, these scones are really good, and even better with a glaze. I found the original scone recipe here, and just made a simple icing sugar glaze with maple syrup, icing sugar, and milk.
image

I have big plans for the next month and a bit… muffins, scones, cakes, eggnog… The Christmas countdown is on, and that means I bake more.

Go make these scones! They are very easy, and are made with most pantry staples. (Yes, I consider molasses a pantry staple because sometimes, you just need molasses. In gingerbread… and Gingerbread Scones!)

Ingredients

Yield: 8 scones

2 c. flour
3 tbsp. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ginger
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. cinnamon
¼ c. cold butter, cut into cubes
1/3 c. molasses
¼ c. milk
1 egg, separated
sugar, to garnish

Preheat oven to 400°F. In a large bowl, mix the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, ginger, baking soda, salt and cinnamon until evenly incorporated together. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together the molasses, milk, and egg yolk until smooth. Add to dry ingredients, tossing with a fork until combined. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, kneading until a cohesive dough is formed.

Form dough with hands into a circle about 8 inches wide. Cut into 8 wedges, and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Scones should be about 1 inch apart.

Whisk the egg white until frothy, then brush over tops of scones. Sprinkle a little bit of sugar on top, and bake in the preheated oven for 12-15 minutes, until bottoms are golden brown. Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool 5-10 minutes. Serve warm.

If desired, you can top your scones with a sprinkle of icing sugar, or a simple maple glaze. For the glaze, in a liquid measuring cup combine 1 tbsp. maple syrup and 1 tsp. milk. Add 1-2 cups of icing sugar, a half cup at a time, until glaze is thick and smooth, not too runny. Drizzle or pour glaze over scones and let set. Enjoy!

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

