Cinnamon Rhubarb Muffins

image

I am on a muffin kick right now. With how much substitute teaching I’ve been doing, I need some snacks that I can quickly pack and take to lunch if I get a call early in the morning. I also need something that will fill me up, and muffins, especially muffins with fruit in them, are one of the top contenders.

I had some rhubarb in the freezer left over from my farmer’s market finds in the summer, and when I stumbled upon this recipe, I was extremely excited.
image

Ingredients:

Yield: 12 large muffins or 16 medium muffins

2 c. flour
¾ c. sugar
2½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 c. sour cream
8 tbsp. (½ c.) butter, melted and cooled slightly
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1½ c. diced rhubarb
3 tbsp. sugar (for finishing)
½ tsp. cinnamon (for finishing)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a muffin tin with paper liners and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, blend the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together. In a separate bowl, whisk together the sour cream, butter, eggs, and vanilla.

Fold in the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, being careful not to over-mix. Gently fold in the rhubarb with a spatula. Spoon into muffin liners. Fill full and slightly mounded for larger muffins, fill about two-thirds full for smaller muffins.

Whisk together sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over the tops of the muffins. Bake for 18-22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the centre of the muffins comes out clean.

Let cool in pans 5-10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack. Serve warm.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

