Pecan Pie

image

Hello readers! Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a wonderful time ringing in the new year. There has been some silence around the blog for the last couple of weeks because of how busy the Christmas season is! I did some baking over the Christmas holidays, but nowhere near as much as I have done in the past.

While I had two weeks away from schools and sub calls, the restaurant industry is always booming in the days before Christmas, Paul and I didn’t even have time to put up a Christmas tree! We were just so busy that it wasn’t even a thought.
image

However, Paul did request one Christmas treat. I pinned this Pecan Pie recipe about two months ago, because Paul has been asking for Pecan Pie for a long time. Now, I had never tried Pecan Pie before. To tell the truth, I’m not too sure why. I mean, I like the taste of pecans. I like pie. Why wouldn’t I like them together? I think I had it in my head that a Pecan Pie would be more egg-y than it actually is, and I’m not the biggest fan of plain eggs.

Either way, I rectified the situation with this Pecan Pie recipe that I found. It looked like an incredibly simple recipe, and I was excited to try it. I did copy her fancy pecan decoration on the top of the pie, but the one change I made to her recipe was I did not brown the butter. For me, it just was one thing too much when I just wanted a simple Pecan Pie recipe.

I will say one thing about this pie – it was hard to cut! While the pecans on top added to the beauty of this pie, I was unable to get a nice, clean slice to photograph. Next time I try this pie I may leave the pecans off, just so I can get an inside-the-pie shot.

Still, this pie was devoured quite quickly, and with gusto. I will have to make it again, and soon!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9-inch pie

1 single pie crust
1 c. sugar
1 c. light corn syrup
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. salt
¼ tsp. cinnamon
4 eggs
½ c. butter, melted
2 c. pecans, coarsely chopped (plus more whole for garnish, if desired)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Partially pre-bake a pie crust for about 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven.

In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, salt and cinnamon. Add eggs and whisk again until smooth. Add in the butter, stirring to combine, then add the chopped pecans.

Pour the batter into the pre-baked pie crust. If desired, top with additional pecans for a decorative finish.

Bake in the preheated oven 50-60 minutes, or until the center of the pie is just set, and still slightly jiggly in the middle. It may need to cook 10-20 minutes longer than needed to set properly.

Remove the pie from the oven and let cool completely before slicing and serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

