Lemon Squares

image

Well. We all know how much I love lemon. (I really just love dessert. Who am I kidding?) Even so, there are so many beautiful flavours to accentuate in gorgeous desserts. Lemon is no exception, and there are so many things to make with lemon. However, one of my all-time favourite desserts to make with lemon are lemon squares.

Why lemon squares? Because of their simplicity. A simple shortbread-type crust with a deliciously tart lemony layer on top, sprinkled with just a touch of icing sugar? Beautiful. I mean, sure, I could make a triple layer lemon cake with a lemon mousse filling and a lemon-loaded frosting (my brain just got really excited… both for the alliteration and of the idea of a cake like that…) but sometimes simple is better.
image

I have been making these lemon squares for years now, and they are always a hit. It’s a good thing I have these babies in my arsenal, because they are quick and simple, a no-fuss-no-muss kind of recipe.

Lemon lovers, I’m here for you, and I support you!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 x 13 inch pan, approx. 2 dozen bars

For the crust:

1 c. butter, softened
½ c. sugar
2 c. flour

For the lemon layer:

4 eggs
1½ c. sugar
¼ c. flour
1 tsp. lemon extract
Juice of 2 lemons (fresh or bottled)

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar, and flour. Press into a parchment-lined 9 x 13 pan and bake for 15-20 minutes, until firm and golden.

In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, flour, and lemon juice and extract until smooth. When crust is done baking, remove from oven and pour lemon mixture over top of crust. Bake for 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool competely before dusting with icing sugar, slicing and serving.

*Note – You can also substitute lime juice for the lemon juice and make lime squares. Add a drop or two of green food colouring to bring out the lime colour. *

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

