Pina Colada Cupcakes

image

These cupcakes came about as a bit of a challenge. Paul, and one of our co-workers, challenged me to make some Pina Colada cupcakes. Now, I’m not the hugest fan of Pina Coladas. I mean, I will drink them if that’s one of the only options, but the pineapple-coconut combination is one that I only like in small increments.

Even so, I decided to rise to the occasion and make something out of my comfort zone. I fished around on the internet, and came up with this recipe. It sounded quite good, with pineapple juice and coconut milk in the cupcake, which was a bonus, because even a small can of pineapple is more than I’m ever going to eat.
image

The juice and the milk in the cupcake make them extremely moist, and the only pineapple that I used I actually chopped up and sprinkled just a few small pieces on each cupcake. I also ended up glazing the actual cupcake with a bit of spiced rum. (I would have used coconut rum, but I was all out!) I added a bit of rum into the buttercream as well to give it that extra pop of flavour.

Once in a while I decide to accept the challenge that people offer me, and these cupcakes turned into a hit with my challengers. Either way, even though they are not my personal favourite flavour combination, others definitely seem to love them!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 12 cupcakes

For the cupcakes:

1 2/3 c. flour
½ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
¾ c. brown sugar, packed
¼ c. sugar
½ c. butter, melted
1 egg, at room temperature
½ c. pineapple juice
½ c. coconut milk
2 tsp. vanilla

For the buttercream frosting:

¾ c. butter, softened
3 c. icing sugar
¼ c. coconut milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. coconut or spiced rum

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a muffin with paper cups, and set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl melt the butter and whisk in the brown and white sugars. Add in the egg, pineapple juice, coconut milk, and vanilla. Whisk together slowly until there are no lumps in the batter.

Fill each muffin cup about 2/3 full of batter. If desired, chop up some fresh pineapple, and sprinkle over the top of each cupcake. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean.

Transfer cupcakes to a cooling rack, and brush the tops with rum if desired. Let cool completely.

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter until smooth. Add in the icing sugar, coconut milk, vanilla, and rum. Cream together until smooth. If the icing is too wet, add more icing sugar. If it is too stiff, add a little more coconut milk.

Pipe onto cupcakes, then garnish with shredded coconut and pineapple.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

