Raspberry Lemon Cookies

image

So I had a day off today, and I realized that it has been about two weeks since my last post! I have been so busy these last two weeks, and now that Family Day is here, I get a week off (from subbing at least!). I spent the day not really doing much, but I went to get a haircut, and then just puttered around the house doing some chores/errands, and had a great phone call date with a friend I hadn’t seen or talked to in a few years (yes, years!). But that’s the best thing about my friends – so many of them don’t care when they see me or talk to me, and we pick up as if we last saw each other yesterday. I truly believe in the quality of friendship over the quantity.

As I was scrolling through Pinterest, I found this recipe for Raspberry Lemon cookies. Considering I love all of the above, and I felt like it’s been a while since I have made cookies, these were calling my name. The ingredient list was fairly basic, and the one thing I didn’t have (a lemon) I substituted for plain lemon juice and lemon extract.

The one tip which I will pass along is this: make sure your raspberries are frozen when you put them in the cookie dough. The dough feels quite loose and wet (so much so that I added an extra half cup of flour, which is reflected in the recipe I have posted below), but the frozen raspberries actually solidify the dough quite nicely. Then the cookies are simply dropped onto a cookie sheet, and baked! So simple!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 24 cookies

½ c. butter, softened
1 c. sugar
½ tsp. vanilla
1 egg
½ lemon, zest and juice (or, 3 tbsp. lemon juice and ½ tsp. lemon extract)
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. baking powder
1/8 tsp. baking soda
2 c. flour
¾ c. frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 350°F and line two baking trays with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the vanilla, egg, and lemon and cream again.

Add in the salt, baking powder, baking soda, and flour, and mix until combined into a sticky dough. The dough may be looser that most cookie dough – this is okay!

Fold in the frozen raspberries, and immediately drop onto cookie sheets and bake for 14-16 minutes, until the edges and bottoms are just barely golden brown and the tops of the cookies are no longer shiny.

Let cool on the cookie sheet for about five minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack.

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemon Cookies

    1. They are interesting! Because you add the raspberries while frozen, the juice ends up marbling the cookie dough! They taste delicious however! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

