Cinnamon Bread

image

Well, it’s no small secret that I love bread. Really, I just love baked goods. When I woke up this morning, I wanted something a little sweeter for breakfast, but wouldn’t be too dessert-like. I was stumped, and as per the usual these days, went straight to my Pinterest boards.
image

I found this Cinnamon Bread that I had pinned at least a year ago, and I knew that was what I wanted. It’s a super simple recipe, (the original found here), and I was a bit surprised to find that the basis of this recipe is an Amish friendship bread. I have heard about this bread before, and when I was younger my mother had a friend give her some of this batter, but it is so time consuming that I didn’t want to commit myself to another bread starter (sourdough is the only dough I need a starter for!).

I was extremely excited to find this recipe then, because it is so easy! It whipped up in about ten minutes or less, and takes more time to bake than it does to actually make. Sounds like a winning recipe to me!
image

Ingredients

Yield: 2 loaves

1 c. butter, softened
2 c. sugar
2 eggs
2 c. buttermilk (or milk with 2 tbsp. vinegar added)
4 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2/3 c. sugar (to finish)
2 tsp. cinnamon (to finish)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease two loaf pans and set aside.

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the butter, sugar and eggs. Add in the milk, flour, and baking soda, and mix until well combined. In a small bowl, mix together the cinnamon and sugar for finishing.

Spoon about ¼ of the mixture into the bottom of each loaf pan. Sprinkle some of the cinnamon sugar mixture over top. Layer the rest of the batter over the cinnamon sugar mixture in the pans, and sprinkle the rest of the cinnamon sugar over the batter. Use a knife to swirl the cinnamon sugar throughout the batter.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the bread comes out clean. Slice, and serve.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

