Flaky Baking Powder Biscuits

image

Time is flying right now! I have not been as good as I should in keeping up with trying to give you all a new post approximately every week or so. That’s how busy I’ve been. What with subbing so much, working at the restaurant, and planning this wedding, I feel like it’s an accomplishment to make myself dinner half the time! I do have a couple recipes “on deck” if you will – that I’ve made in the last little bit and haven’t posted yet… so because I didn’t get a sub call today (which is extremely strange to me!) I will probably spend the next little while in front of my computer and type out those posts/recipes, so that I can just click “Publish” and send you all more goodies!

I pinned these biscuits a few days ago, because I just hadn’t had biscuits in the longest time. I love a fluffy, tall, flaky biscuit, and that’s what was advertised in the original recipe, so I decided to give these a go (and make myself something delicious to snack on as well!).

I love buttered biscuits. I know, some people prefer jam, some peanut butter, and the U.S.A. prefers biscuits topped with a white sausage gravy, but I am a sucker for a plain, beautiful biscuit slathered in butter while warm. The butter gets all melty and delicious, and the biscuit layers… I’ll stop. I’m too excited.

The recipe is extremely easy – you don’t even need to drag out your mixer! They took me about 10-15 minutes to whip up, and they bake for as long, so you can have warm, fresh, fluffy biscuits in the next half hour. You’re welcome.
image

Ingredients

Yield: 9-10 biscuits, approx. 4 inches each

3 c. flour
1 tbsp. sugar
1½ tsp. salt
1 tbsp. baking powder
¾ c. buttermilk
1  egg, beaten
¼ c. shortening
2 tbsp. cold water
½ c. butter, cold, and cut into cubes

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Line a baking tray with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Toss with a fork to combine. Make a well in the dry ingredients, and add the buttermilk, beaten egg, shortening, and water.

Mix with a wooden spoon  to start to combine, but do not overmix.

Add in cubed butter, and with your hands, knead the butter into the dough about 7 or 8 times. The butter should be slightly incorporated, but also in visible chunks in the dough. This will make the biscuits extra fluffy. Again, do not overmix, or the biscuits will become tough.

Turn out the dough on a non-stick surface or wooden cutting board and pat dough into a circle, about 1½ inches high. Using a glass rimmed in flour or a circular cookie cutter,  cut out biscuits, getting as many from the first cut as you can. Do not twist the cutter or the glass, instead going as smoothly up and down as you can. Twisting the cutter’s edge seals off the edge of the biscuit and does not let it rise as high.

Place biscuits on lined baking sheet, with the edges touching. Bake in preheated oven for 12-15 minutes, or until biscuits are light golden brown around tops and bottoms. Serve warm with butter, jam, gravy, whatever your heart desires!

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

