Blueberry Pie

Too long, I am sorry! It’s been entirely too long since my last post. I have been busy, and baking as well, but the small number of things that I made NOT already on the blog were devoured before any pictures could be taken, so I am sorry!
image

As it is, I only got one good picture of this pie on the first cut. If I get a better picture after this, I will update the post for you lovelies!

Paul is a HUGE blueberry fan. While I have a few berries a bit higher up on my list, I decided to finally oblige. Fresh blueberries with flaky pie crust…. when you serve it warm with vanilla ice cream, even I turn into a blueberry convert.

Because it’s been so long since my last post, I won’t blather on. I found the recipe here, from the wonderful Annie, and here it is! I promise, it won’t be as long for my next post, I found some great looking blackberries at the store today!

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

1 recipe for a double pie crust
4 c. fresh blueberries
1 tbsp. lemon juice
¾ c. sugar
3 tbsp. cornstarch
¼ tsp. lemon extract or lemon zest
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. cinnamon
1 tbsp cold butter, cut into pieces
1 egg
1 tbsp. water

Make pie crust, if needed, and roll out to fit the bottom of the pie plate. Trim, and refrigerate.

Preheat oven to 375°F.

In a large bowl, combine the blueberries, lemon juice, sugar, cornstarch, lemon extract/zest salt, and cinnamon. Toss to coat berries. Pile berries in the pie plate, covering with pieces of butter.

Roll out pastry to cover the pie, seal and crimp edges, and cut slits into top of pie to vent.

Bake in preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, until juices are bubbling. Remove from oven, and let cool 1-2 hours until set. Slice and serve at room temperature, or warm with vanilla ice cream.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

