Chocolate Pistachio Sea Salt Cookies


These cookies combine three wonderful things all together in one place… I mean cookie. These goodies have been on my Pinterest board for a while, and as I was perusing through my pantry, I came upon a hidden trove of pistachios! It was meant to be.

I love cookies. They are a simple, basic recipe for the most part. Cream butter and sugar. Mix dry ingredients separately. Marry them together, and voila! Cookies. Plus, they are portable, single-serving desserts. I may also use them as currency occasionally. You know, “Hey, can you feed my cats while I’m away? Yeah? Great, I’ll pay you in cookies and baking!” People love it.

These gems are super simple to make – if you buy shelled pistachios! I think I spent more time shelling the pistachios I had instead of actually making the cookie dough. Hindsight on my part. Either way, bring on the cookies! I found the original recipe here, and tweaked it with what I had on hand (a.k.a. chocolate chips instead of dark chocolate chunks… but I fully intend to try these again as written in the original recipe!). I also doubled the recipe, because who only wants 2 dozen cookies? I want more! 🙂

Ingredients:

Yield: 2 dozen cookies (recipe can be easily doubled)

1½ c. flour
½ tsp. sea salt
¾ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ c. butter, at room temperature
¼ c. sugar
¾ c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
¾ c. shelled pistachios, chopped
1 c. chocolate chips or chunks
Sea salt, for finishing

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a sheet tray with parchment paper or Silpat, if desired.

Cream together the butter, sugar, and brown sugar. Add the egg and vanilla and beat again.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda and whisk to combine. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix until combined.

Fold in the pistachios and chocolate until evenly incorporated.

Using a spoon or scoop, form tablespoon-sized dough balls, and place 1-2 inches apart on baking trays. Flatten out slightly by pressing lightly on the dough. Sprinkle sea salt on cookies.

Bake in the preheated oven for 12-14 minutes, or until light golden around the edges. Let cookies sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!