Coconut Cookies


Holy moly it’s been a month! I both can and can’t believe it. Life has been running away with me this past month, and I’ve barely had any time for any baking!

In case you’ve forgotten, I was a bridesmaid in my friend Sandi’s wedding in Nelson in the middle of the month, and I’ve been working at the restaurant and planning for my new teaching job – yes, in case I forgot to tell all of you beautiful souls, I got a teaching job! All of that, combined with still trying to frantically finish our own wedding planning (and paying for all things wedding!) equals no time for me to make ANYTHING.

However, I found myself with a rare day of peace today, and I was resolved to spend my day in the kitchen making some fabulous goodies. While I made a bunch of things (that will also be posted soon… now I have back-up material for the next few posts!), these cookies seemed like the right choice to start us back off.

I found the original recipe here, and if I make these again, I am definitely not going to bake them as long. Mine came out more crunchy than chewy, and I am a big fan of a chewy, soft cookies. I have changed the baking time to reflect this.

Ingredients:

Yield: 3 dozen cookies

1 c. sugar
¼ c. brown sugar
1 c. butter, at room temperature
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. shredded or shaved coconut
2 c. flour
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a sheet pan with parchment or Silpat, if desired. (I didn’t, and my cookies didn’t stick at all.)

Cream together sugar, brown sugar, and butter until colour lightens. Add in egg and vanilla, and combine again. Mix in the coconut until well combined.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to the coconut mixture in three additions, mixing well after each addition until the flour is incorporated.

Using a teaspoon or a scoop, drop rounds of cookie dough onto the prepared sheet pan. Bake in preheated oven for 15-17 minutes, until the edges of the cookies are just starting to turn a golden brown.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

 

One thought on “Coconut Cookies

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

