Coconut Cream Pie

Okay, I admit it. Up until now, I haven’t been the biggest coconut fan. I’ve always liked it, but I’ve never LOVED coconut. I think the Coconut Cookies I made a few weeks back, along with this pie, is truly opening me up to loving coconut. While I’m still not a fan of Pina Coladas (the pineapple-coconut combination just doesn’t do it for me… sorry team. It’s not BAD, it’s just…. mojitos are better!) I am really starting to appreciate coconut as its own flavour.

Paul has been bugging me, almost relentlessly, for pie lately. His excuse is that it’s Fall now, and Fall means pie. Today, I bit the bullet, and made him pie. I’m happy I did too, because this pie is phenomenal. Like, I can’t even explain how great it is. The coconut filling has just a touch of almond extract, and for me, that made the coconut flavour sing even more!!
I found the original recipe here, and followed it word for word. I haven’t made a ton of cream pies, so I’m still getting used to the custard idea. But, again, I am so, so happy I made this pie. Just trust me, and go make this pie for yourself!

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

|For the crust:

1 recipe Flaky Butter Pie Crust (or half, if you don’t want to freeze the leftovers)

For the custard cream:

3 c. milk
1/3 c. flour
2/3 c. sugar
Pinch of salt
1 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
3 egg yolks, slightly beaten
4 tbsp. (or ¼ c.) butter
2 tsp. vanilla
¼ tsp. almond extract

For the whipped cream:

1 c. heavy cream
1 tsp. vanilla
3 tbsp. icing sugar

Prepare the pie crust according to the recipe. Blind bake at 350°F, with pie weights, for 15-20 minutes until golden. Remove from oven and let cool.

In a large saucepan, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, and coconut and set aside.

In a small saucepan or microwave-safe liquid measuring cup, heat 1 c. of milk until scalding. (I used the microwave – I could quickly heat 1 cup at a time without burning the milk.)

With the burner on medium low heat, whisk the milk into the coconut mixture in the saucepan. Cook until the mixture thickens slightly. While the mixture is cooking/thickening, heat 1 c. of milk until scalding. Once the mixture has thickened, whisk the second cup of scalded milk into the saucepan and continue cooking.

Heat the last cup of milk until hot and scalded. Once the mixture has thickened again, whisk the 3rd cup of milk into the coconut mixture, and let it cook again, until thickened even more.

Once the mixture has thickened more, temper the egg yolks by spooning about half a cup of the coconut mixture into the eggs and whisking vigorously while doing so. Do not stop whisking until the mixture has come together – you don’t want the eggs to cook. Once the eggs have been incorporated, place the small amount of egg mixture back into the pan with the rest of the custard base, and whisk until cohesive.

Add in the butter, vanilla, and almond extract, and cook until almost boiling, or until a pudding-like consistency is reached.

Immediately take the custard off the heat and let it cool for 20 minutes. Pour the custard into the blind-baked shell, and let cool.

For the whipped cream, whip together the cream, vanilla and sugar until soft peaks form. Top the custard with the whipped cream, garnish with toasted coconut, and chill.

Wait until the pie is completely chilled until slicing and serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

