Blackberry Pie

Well friends, it’s official. Paul and I are married!!! This is my first post as a Mrs. I’m a WIFE. It’s still weird to me. It’ll take a while to get used to it. Either way, our wedding was a good time and a fun party, however we came out the other side with a ridiculous amount of fresh blackberries and mint. We had a feature drink, a Blackberry Mojito (which was FANTASTIC), but I couldn’t resist. I had to make pie.
Of course, this made Paul extremely excited. He LOVES pie. As in, pie-might-just-be-his-favourite-dessert-EVER. For a while now, I’ve actually been quite hesitant to make homemade blackberry pie.

When I was young, I lived in B.C. with my family, and we had a blackberry bush in the backyard. My favourite thing to eat was my dad’s homemade blackberry pie. It just is the memory of my childhood – the taste of my childhood. However, I’m so glad I decided, finally, to take the plunge and make blackberry pie.
Now, my pie crust both Paul and I LOVE. It isn’t a terribly hard recipe, and I’ve posted it on the blog before. With some experimentation, we have learned that this pie crust is really best when made fresh and used within two days of making. It does freeze, but when you freeze it then use it again, it doesn’t turn out as well as it does when it’s fresh. Trust me. Make the single batch. Even if you want just a single crust pie, just halve the recipe. It’ll work, I promise.

This recipe is part a found recipe from Pinterest (linked here), part my dad’s advice, and part me just doing my own thing. I guess I just went with how I felt.

Ingredients

Yield: 1 9 inch pie

1 recipe Flaky Butter Pie Crust
5-6 c. fresh blackberries
1 c. sugar
½ c. flour
1 tbsp. cornstarch
2 tsp. lemon juice
2 tbsp. butter

Make pie crust according to directions. When pie crust is ready to be used, preheat oven to 350° F.

Roll out pie crust to fit into a pie plate with about 2 inches of overhang. Do not trim edges yet.

In a large bowl, combine the berries, sugar, flour, cornstarch and lemon juice. Stir to combine and coat the blackberries. Transfer coated berries into the pie plate lined with the crust and spread out fairly evenly. Dot the butter over the top of the berries, all around the pie.

Trim the pie crust, then re-roll into a single pie crust, or cut into strips for a lattice-top pie crust. Top pie. If you rolled the crust into a single, full-crust top, cut 6 slits around the top of the pie to vent.

Bake in preheated oven for 45-55 minutes, or until berry mixture is bubbling and starting to bubble out of vent slits. Transfer to a cooling rack and cool completely before slicing and serving.

*Pie can be sliced and served warm, but the filling will be runny. Allowing the pie to cool firms up the filling, and the pie can be reheated as necessary.*

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

