Sourdough Burger Buns


I have been looking for so long for a good sourdough bun! I actually used these as the bun for a homemade beef dip that I made when Paul was working one night, but I was so happy with how these turned out!

I was able to use my starter right out of the fridge (bonus!!), and these buns were so good right out of the oven and slathered with butter (one of my favourite ways to eat a bun/my guilty pleasure bread confession… warm bun with melted butter? I’m there).

These buns also didn’t take that long to make. I was worried, because I had decided to make buns after the meat was cooking (I also cooked it from frozen though), and wasn’t sure what would take longer – the buns to rise and cook, or the frozen meat to cook to tender and done in the oven. Turns out, the buns took slightly longer, but not by much.

I found the original recipe here, and the only thing I modified was to add a teaspoon of active dry yeast. I wasn’t sure, like I said, if the buns would rise in time with just the starter, so I wanted to help the buns along. I changed this in the recipe below.

Ingredients

Yield: 8 buns

2 c. sourdough starter, fed or unfed
3 tbsp. butter
½ c. milk, lukewarm
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. active dry yeast
3 c. flour

In a mixer bowl fitted with the dough hook attachment, add the sourdough starter, butter, milk, eggs, salt, sugar and yeast. Stir together. Add flour, and mix until a cohesive dough forms. If the dough is sticky, add a bit more flour. If it is very dry, add a tablespoon or so of water until the dough becomes smooth and satiny.

Place the dough into a greased bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise until doubled in size, about 1-2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Once risen, form the dough into tennis-ball sized buns, making sure to pinch closed any seams to make the buns as seamless as possible. (If you want, you can roll out the dough and cut rounds with a 4 inch cookie cutter and then do the rise.)

Place buns on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Bake in the preheated oven for 15-18 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown.

If you want, you can give the buns an egg wash and sprinkle sesame seeds on top.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

