Focaccia Bread

Well, if you know me, you know how much I love all things bread. I could never go carb-free, because, well, I love bread, pasta, cake, cookies, and basically everything in between.

I’ve had this recipe on my Pinterest board for a few years, and never got around to making it. You know how it goes. Other things to make, more exciting things. Well, finally, I decided to make this bread, and I don’t know why I waited so long!

It was a fairly easy recipe to make, the only thing that was difficult was waiting for the bread to rise! Still, it came out of the oven looking beautiful golden brown and smelling like heaven. The original recipe is here, and I didn’t change anything.

I know the weather is getting warmer, but I can’t resist baking on my days off. I guess it’s a form of stress relief. Either way, good things come of my baking, so I’ll keep at it!

Ingredients

Yield: 10-12 servings

1¾ c. warm water (110-115°F)
1 pkg. (2¼ tsp.) yeast
2 tsp. rosemary
2 tsp. thyme
1 tbsp. sugar
5¼ c. flour
1 tbsp. kosher or coarse sea salt, plus more for garnish
1 c. olive oil, divided

In a small bowl, mix the rosemary and thyme together.

In the bowl of a mixer fitted with a dough hook, combine the water, yeast, half of the spices, sugar, and half of the flour. Once the mixture has started to combine, stop the mixer, and add in the remaining flour, salt, and ½ c. of olive oil. Knead for 5-6 minutes, until smooth, and transfer to a lightly oiled bowl. Cover with plastic wrap, and let rise in a warm spot for 1 hour, or until doubled in size.

After the first rise, put the remainder of olive oil in a jelly roll pan and spread out evenly. Press the dough into the pan, using your hands to spread the dough out as evenly as possible, until it is spread out to the edges of the pan. With your fingers, create dimples all over the dough. Wrap the pan in plastic wrap, and let rise in a warm spot for 1 hour, or until doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 425°F. Brush the bread with the olive oil in the pan, then sprinkle with the remaining herbs and sea salt. Bake until golden brown, 25-30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before slicing and serving.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

