Rhubarb Scones

It’s summertime! That means I have lots of free time on my hands, and my parents have a garden full to bursting with fresh produce, veggies, and fruits. One of the many fruits of their labour (sorry, I couldn’t resist! Ha!) is rhubarb.

My dad recently came down to visit, and brought with him a TON of rhubarb. I mean a ton. I cut it all up, and separated it, there was probably around seven cups of fresh cut rhubarb! I was so excited! Cue searching rhubarb recipes on Pintrest.

I came across a few recipes for rhubarb scones, but every recipe I found included heavy cream. Now, heavy cream is not a staple in my refrigerator. Why? Because I just don’t use it enough! I use it for baking, and that’s about it. If I’m too busy to use it, it goes bad, and there goes money down the drain. Boo! So I decided to compromise.

I searched for a simple, plain scone recipe (because I love breakfast baked goods, I just forget to make them for breakfast), and found this one that seemed absolutely perfect. It used everything I had in my pantry and refrigerator (no heavy cream, just milk. Score!), and was a plain recipe that I figured I could easily jazz up with rhubarb.

The only changes I made to the recipe, and I’ll add them below in addition to the link of the original recipe above, was to add about 2 cups of chopped frozen rhubarb to the scones, then sprinkle the tops with a simple cinnamon sugar mixture.

It’s been crazy hot here in Southern Alberta lately, so you may not see too many baked goods around these parts this summer. I reserve baking for when the weather cools off a bit, and the afternoon I made these, Lethbridge decided to grace us with a bit of a thunderstorm. It’s okay though, I’ve got some great no-bake recipes planned, including a chocolatey treat up next!

As for these rhubarb scones, just make them, and enjoy the delicious tartness of fresh rhubarb! These taste great on their own, a little tart, a little sweet, a lot of flavour. But, these babies are just as good with strawberry jam, or butter and cinnamon sugar to top with as well! Enjoy!

Ingredients

Yield: 8 scones

2½ c. flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
½ c. butter, cold, and cut into pieces
1/3 c. sugar
2/3 c. milk
2 c. rhubarb, chopped
Cinnamon sugar, to garnish

Preheat the oven to 425°F.  Line a baking tray with parchment paper, and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Add in the butter chunks, and with a pastry blender, combine until the mixture resembles fine crumbs.

Add sugar, and stir to combine. Add in the rhubarb and the milk, and stir with a wooden spoon until the dough comes together. It may be crumbly. Use your hands if you need to knead the dough until it becomes cohesive.

Pat dough or roll into a circle about 1½ inches thick. With a knife, cut the dough into 8 pieces. Transfer the wedges onto the prepared baking tray, letting the edges touch for softer scones, or separate for crisper scones.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until a light golden brown on top.

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!

