Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread 2

It’s like I said. It’s pumpkin season. I couldn’t help myself. I got home from work tonight, already missing the pumpkin pie of Thanksgiving weekend. A few years ago, before you readers, I made a huge batch of pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. The combination was fabulous. I couldn’t stop thinking of that heavenly combination, and searched for a recipe for a pumpkin chocolate chip bread right away.

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread 4

The original recipe is here. I made a few changes, namely the spices. To me, if you are going to play around with pumpkin and spices, you can’t just have one or two spices. You need the whole gang, all of those lovely companions that truly bring out the pumpkin flavour.

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread 1

Ingredients

Yield: 2 8 in. loaves

3½ c. flour
2 c. sugar
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. nutmeg
¼ tsp. ground ginger
¼ tsp. ground cloves
¼ tsp. cardamom
1/8 tsp. allspice
1 tsp. salt
2 c. pumpkin puree
½ c. oil
½ c. applesauce
4 eggs, beaten lightly
1 tsp. vanilla
1/3 c water
1-2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (depending on how much you like chocolate chips… I put two cups in!)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease two loaf pans and set aside. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, spices, and salt. Toss with a fork to combine.

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the pumpkin puree, oil, applesauce, eggs, vanilla and water. With the mixer still running on low speed, gradually add the dry mixture to the wet, until everything is incorporated together. Mix in the chocolate chips.

Divide batter between greased loaf pans, and bake in preheated oven for 55 to 65 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean. Cool for 20 minutes in pans, then turn out onto wire rack.

Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread 3

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Bread

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for
    your blog. You have some really great articles and I
    believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some
    content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

Have a comment? I'd love to hear it!